top of page
  • bsample301

Power Rankings: November 6th

Cover image from: wikipedia.org


Here is the start of my NHL Power Rankings. I have created a formula using NHL stats to create a power rankings for the teams of the NHL. Since almost every NHL team has played 10 games, I have decided to start posting my power rankings.


Here is the formula that I am using for my power rankings:

((GD/CF%)+(√PK%+√PP%))*PTS%


I used lots of trial and error to be able to make a formula over the summer and through the start of the season and this is what I came up with to use.


I wanted a power ranking formula to focus on all of the parts of the game of hockey: goal scoring, penalty kill and power play, and points.


So I tried to make them all into one formula that shows the team that excelled the best in each of those categories.


So without further ado, here is the inaugural power rankings:

The more red that a column is, the worse that the team is in that category compared to the rest of the league. A pure white column means that the team is the best in the league.


I will keep track of how each team does over the course of the season to see who improves and who doesn't.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page